Filming, editing and more: an intern’s view.

My name is Kiarra, and I am a graduating senior majoring in A/V. This quarter I am attending I’AMedia Productions as an intern. In school I’ve been trained how to create silent films, add voiceovers and write for screen, as well as create foley art, commercials, documentaries, short films, music videos, corporate videos, and sports broadcasting- all of these involving audio editing, video editing, storyboards, and shot lists. My experience in school has been excellent and my knowledge of story telling has been expanded tremendously. My internship has added to my knowledge of professional film production, editing, audio recording, camera operating, advanced camera knowledge, and script writing. One significant plus for me has been relearning how to use Final Cut Pro, including learning new ways to edit and use key frames.
Immediately after starting my internship I was assigned to help edit an infomercial for a client. With that project alone I learned how to make the client stand out and look more professional, as well as how to make the overall video come alive. There is so much I can say about my experience it would be like writing a book. To sum up my thoughts I believe my experience here at I’AMedia will be a key element in helping me to achieve my goal of becoming a professional film producer.

(Kiarra is an Audio and Video Production major at Columbus State Community College in Columbus, Ohio. This is her first blog.)

